Participate Vs Anticipate

So in my journey to ‘happy’ I’ve been trying this thing called ‘participating’ in life. I realized that I had become stuck in ‘pause’ for a long time, waiting for something awesome to happen, or waiting for that one thing I need to happen in order to move forward in my life. Waiting is a trap, it’s a sneaky self defeating trap because once you’re in it, you don’t realize you’re doing it. It’s easy to think everyone else has it figured out or has it better because everything around you is in motion while you’re standing still. 

 

Image

THE WAITING PLACE 

by Dr. Seuss

Waiting for a train to go or a bus to come,
or a plane to go or the mail to come,
or the rain to go or the phone to ring,
or the snow to snow or waiting around for a Yes or No
or waiting for their hair to grow.

Everyone is just waiting.

Waiting for the fish to bite
or waiting for wind to fly a kite
or waiting around for Friday night

or waiting, perhaps, for their Uncle Jake
or a pot to boil, or a Better Break
or a string of pearls, or a pair of pants
or a wig with curls, or Another Chance.

Everyone is just waiting.

###

Excerpt from Oh, The Places You’ll Go! by Dr. Seuss”

 

I was doing more anticipating than actual participating, which becomes problematic because without action how can there be a definite reaction? I was just magically expecting things to happen , because life was suppose to unfold in a certain way right? Well no, not right. I had an idea of how things were suppose to go but no idea on how to go about getting in the direction that I wanted to go . So I’m starting small. I have an agenda, literally an agenda that you would write your assignments in at school. Not just for doctor or hair appointments, but for life. I need to physically slow my brain down from all the anticipation and actually participate in life. That means writing in a time to go to the gym, a time to call or write a friend, a time to do whatever it is I need to in order to reconnect to the real world. 

 

Life is too short to be spending it alone. I’ve had two play dates this week through my daughter and it was pretty amazing talking to other grown ups, especially ones who feel pretty similar to you. Working midnights is pretty challenging in and of itself, but all it means is that I may have to work a little harder and be a little more creative to staying connected but it can be done. I’m working on finding a routine that will eventually come naturally, one that involves self care {being able to take care of and put myself first}, taking care of my family – husband and kids, maybe even regular dates??  I also am working on being a better friend, actually calling people and making the effort to spend time with people. Do you have anything you do to help you stay connected when its so easy to disconnect? What helps you stay grounded? The suggestion box is accepting new ideas on how to live life on full tilt 🙂

 

~Birdie

Leave a Reply

